1949 Diamond T Model 201 factory custom build (beginning restoration)

Homepage Forums Looking for info Looking for Info 1949 Diamond T Model 201 factory custom build (beginning restoration)

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Dylan Young
    Participant

Hello everyone,
    I’m a youngster, and I just graduated high school, but am now in a welding and metal fab class. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m a newbie when it comes to Diamond T Restoration. However, I have always been into classic cars and trucks and have interned at a Model A restoration shop for several months now, which has started me off in my dream career of auto and truck restoration. Anyways, I guess I could say I’ve been a Diamond T enthusiast ever since I found out about the truck make and wanted to learn more about them. I did research on the nameplate of Diamond T in my spare time, and was pretty interested in it. I had never seen one before, but I was really impressed by the history and everything behind them.
    Then, a few years ago, I asked one of my mentors, an older gentleman I know that I sometimes work for, if he had ever heard of a truck make called “Diamond T”. He said yes, and that one of his friend Craig actually had one sitting on his property. Excited by this, I asked Craig about it and he said told me that it had been sitting for fifteen years on his property. It apparently was built for Pleasure Point Lumber Company (ow Big Creek Lumber) out in Santa Cruz, CA. He said that it was custom-built with 16″ wheels, lower to the ground, and with an extended wheelbase for stacking lumber on the back. I asked him if it was for sale, I can’t remember exactly what his response was, but i could tell he didn’t take me seriously at first.